Skip navigation

Olga Kern Rachmaninoff Festival Tickets

I believe I’ve seen the Phoenix Symphony perform one of the concertos with a pianist before, and I’ve definitely seen them perform the Symphonic Dances before.
What a treat to be able to see all of them in two weeks! Here is the full program:

Thursday, May 3 (Symphony Hall):
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Piano Concerto No. 1
Aram Khachaturian – Selections from Gayane (Lesginka, Dance of the Young Maidens, Ayshe’s Dance, Sabre Dance, Mountaineers’ Dance)
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Rhapsody on a Theme of a Paganini

Sunday, May 6 (Scottsdale Center for the Arts):
Aram Khachaturian – Selections from Gayane (Lesginka, Dance of the Young Maidens, Ayshe’s Dance, Sabre Dance, Mountaineer’s Dance)
Miecyzslaw Weinberg – Sinfonietta No. 1
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Piano Concerto No. 2

Thursday, May 10 (Symphony Hall):
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Vocalise
Alexander Borodin – Symphony No. 2
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Piano Concerto No. 3

Saturday, May 12 (Symphony Hall):
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Piano Concerto No. 4
Sergei Rachmaninoff – Symphonic Dances

A few notes. Borodin is one of my heroes, so I absolutely loved that I got to hear some of his music performed live. I also was surprised at just how much I enjoyed the Khachaturian, and thought it would be a pain to hear it twice. After the Weinberg, Julia and I were the only two in the audience standing, and it was really neat, because Michael Christie acknowledged us by nodding to us! It was SO COOL. In terms of the Rachmaninoff, the 3rd concerto was my favorite, but the Symphonic Dances were definitely my favorite overall and I loved that that ended our two-week festival.

Leave a Reply

